Wednesday, February 6, 2008

Pebble Beach National Pro-Am Preview

The AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am, an event originally known as the Bing Crosby National Pro-Amateur, or just the Crosby Clambake, is a PGA Tour golf tournament that is held every year at Pebble Beach, California, in the United States. The tournament is typically held during the month of February on three different courses, Pebble Beach Golf Links, Poppy Hills Golf Course and Spyglass Hill Golf Course.

How it works
The starting field consists of 180 professionals and 180 amateurs. One professional is paired with one amateur. Each day, 60 2-man teams will play on one of the three courses. Then on the final day, those professionals and pro-amateur teams making the 54-hole cut will play on the Pebble Beach Golf Links.

Only professionals may compete in the individual competition part of the tournament. Amateurs are restricted to playing only in the pro-amateur team competition. The local Pebble Beach tournament officials handle pairing of professionals with amateurs, while the PGA Tour's weekly tournament officials handle the assignment of tee times.

Last year

Phil Mickelson won by five strokes, closing with a 6-under 66 to match the tournament record of 20-under 268 set by Mark O'Meara in 1997. Mickelson also won the 1998 and 2005 tournaments.This years newsTiger Woods, the 2000 tournament and U.S. Open winner at Pebble Beach, is skipping the event for the sixth straight year. Davis Love III, winner in 2001 and 2003, is returning from a left ankle injury that required surgery to repair torn tendons. Greg Norman is making his first PGA Tour start since the 2006 International.

Interesting Fact

Since its inception only 3 non-US golfers have won this event:

1965 Bruce Crampton

1993 Brett Ogle

2004 Vijay Singh

No comments: