Wednesday, January 30, 2008

Dubai Desert Classic Preview

The Dubai Desert Classic takes place in the United Arab Emirates and is part of the European Tour schedule. It was inaugurated in 1989 and was the first European Tour event in the Middle East. It is played on the "Majlis" course at Emirates Golf Club

The event is notable for attracting some of the biggest stars in the world of golf with the assistance of generous appearance fees.

Prize Money (Total 2.5million)





Past Winners

Dubai Desert Classic

  • 2007 Flag of Sweden Henrik Stenson
  • 2006 Flag of the United States Tiger Woods
  • 2005 Flag of South Africa Ernie Els
  • 2004 Flag of the United States Mark O'Meara
  • 2003 Flag of the Netherlands Robert-Jan Derksen
  • 2002 Flag of South Africa Ernie Els
  • 2001 Flag of Denmark Thomas Bjørn
  • 2000 Flag of Argentina José Cóceres
  • 1999 Flag of England David Howell
  • 1998 Flag of Spain José María Olazábal
  • 1997 Flag of Australia Richard Green
  • 1996 Flag of Scotland Colin Montgomerie
  • 1995 Flag of the United States Fred Couples
  • 1994 Flag of South Africa Ernie Els
  • 1993 Flag of South Africa Wayne Westner
  • 1992 Flag of Spain Seve Ballesteros

My tip

It would be hard to go past Tiger as the clear favorite, but don't discount defending champion Henrik Stenson.

No comments: